Community Corrections Program

The Community Corrections Programs were created to divert felony offenders from the Tennessee Prison system and to provide necessary supervision and service to the offenders with the goal of reducing the probability of continued criminal behavior while maintaining the safety of the community.


The program is operated statewide and ETHRA serves Criminal Courts in six Judicial Districts and 19 counties in East Tennessee. The felon is sentenced to the program by the Judge and agrees to abide by the rules and regulations of the program.

Top 3 Goals

  1. To provide supervision and services to felons while maintaining the safety of the community.
  2. To reduce prison overcrowding.
  3. To help reduce the probability of continued criminal behavior.

Explanation of Services

The State of Tennessee special legislative session in 1985 created the Community Corrections Program to reduce prison overcrowding. Community Corrections offers local courts increased options, assists victims through collection of restitution, provides public community service work to local governments, and avoids additional tax costs for Tennessee taxpayers. The average costs are less than $5 per day for Community Corrections versus the higher costs of $30 per day for incarceration. The Program leaves space in the jails and prisons for violent and repeat offenders.

The offenders are expected to live at home, support their families, work, and attend treatment programs as available. The Community Corrections Programs statewide have a successful termination rate of over 50%. Successful terminations are reviewed after one year and fewer than 10% have been convicted of a new felony.

Number of Persons Served

In the 19 counties ETHRA serves there are 908 felons currently sentenced to the program. Statewide there are over 5,000 felons on the 20 Community Corrections Programs.

Source of Funding

State funds are made available through the Tennessee Board of Probation and Parole. Participants also pay Supervision and Community Corrections Fees.

Counties Served

Judicial District Three: Greene, Hamblen, Hancock, and Hawkins; Judicial District Four: Cocke, Grainger, Jefferson, and Sevier; Judicial District Five: Blount; Judicial District Seven: Anderson; Judicial District Eight: Campbell, Claiborne, Fentress, Scott, and Union; and Judicial District Nine: Loudon, Meigs, Monroe, and Roane.

For More Information Please Contact: Linda Brooks at (865) 691-2551 ext. 4247 or by E-mail at